Home Admission List Full details About The Top 5 Best Universities In Nigeria

Full details About The Top 5 Best Universities In Nigeria


Do you want to seek admission to the best university in Nigeria ? Then read the full details of the top 5 best university in Nigeria,it will serve has guide for you.1

1.Ahmadu Bello University(ABU)

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU ) is a federal government university which is located in Zaria , Kaduna State . ABU was founded on October 4, 1962.

In its over 45 years in existence, the Ahmadu Bello University has grown to become Nigeria’s and also, West Africa’s largest University, with over 12 faculties accommodating about 100 academic departments.

ABU has two campuses,Samaru (main) and Kongo in Zaria.The school also has a pre-degree school at Funtua The Samaru campus consists of the administrative offices and the faculties of physical sciences, life sciences, social sciences, arts and languages, education, environmental design, engineering, medical sciences, agricultural sciences and research facilities. The Kongo campus hosts the faculties of Law and Administration. The Faculty of Administration consists of Accounting, Business Administration, Local Government and Development Studies and Public Administration Departments. The university also run other programs at other locations .

2. University of Lagos (UNILAG)

University of Lagos popularly known as Unilag , is a federal government university in Lagos State ,Nigeria

Unilag has remained one of the most competitive university in the country in terms of admission.

The faculties in Unilag are Arts ,Social sciences, Business administration,law science ,environmental sciences,
engineering/technology,school of clinical sciences,School of Basic medical science,school of dental sciences ,Pharmacy,Education,Institutes, centers, and academic establishments.

The school has 13 halls which are;
King Jaja Hall (male, undergraduate)
Jereton Mariere Hall (male, undergraduate)
Saburi Biobaku Hall (male, undergraduate)
El Kanemi Hall (male, undergraduate)
Kofoworola Ademola Hall (female, undergraduate)
Moremi Hall (female, undergraduate)
Queen Amina Hall (female, undergraduate)
Honours Hall (female, undergraduate)
Henry Carr Hall (mixed, postgraduate)
Erastus Akingbola Hall (mixed, postgraduate)
Sodeinde Hall (male, undergraduate)
Eni-Njoku Hall (male, undergraduate)
Aliyu Makama Bida Hall (female, undergraduate)
Fagunwa Hall (female, undergraduate)
Madam Tinubu Hall (female, undergraduate).

3. Obafemi Awolowo University (O.A.U) Ile-Ife
Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU ) is a federal government university located at osun,ile ife in Nigeria .The university was founded in 1961 and classes commenced in October 1962

Ile-Ife campus is built on about 5,000 acres (20 km 2) of a total of 13,000 acres (53 km 2) university owned land. Its halls of residence include:
Awolowo Hall
Angola Hall
Alumni Hall
ETF Hall
Fajuyi Hall
Ladoke Akintola Hall
Moremi Hall
Mozambique Hall
Murtala Muhammed Hall

The departments in Obafemi Awolowo University include;

Agricultural Economics & Extension
African Languages and Literature
Agricultural Economics
Agricultural and Environmental Engineering
Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
Anatomy and Cell Biology
Animal Science
Business Law
Chemical Engineering
Chemical Pathology
Civil Engineering
Community Health and Nutrition
Computer Science and Engineering
Continuing Education
Crop production
Demography and Social Statistics
Dermatology and Venerology
Dramatic Arts
Drug Research and Production Unit
Educational Administration and Planning
Educational Foundation and Counseling
Educational Technology
Electronic and Electrical Engineering
English Language
Environmental Health and Epidemiology
Estate Management
Fine and Applied Arts
Food Nutrition and Consumer Sciences
Food Science and Technology
Foreign Languages
Haematology and Immunology
Institute of Education
International Law
International Relations
Jurisprudence and Private Law
Literature in English
Local Government Studies
Management and Accounting
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
Medical Rehabilitation
Mental Health
Materials Science & Engineering
Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perinatology
Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology
Paediatrics and Child Health
Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Urban & Regional Planning
Physical and Health Education
Physiological Sciences
Plant Science
Political Science
Public Administration
Public Law
Quantity Surveying
Religious Studies
Sociology and Anthropology
Soil Science
Special Education and Curriculum Studies
Urban and Regional Planning

4. University of Ibadan (U.I)

University of Ibadan is the first university in Nigeria it was founded in 1948.

University of Ibadan has sixteen Faculty which are , Arts, Science, Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Agriculture, the Social Sciences, Education, Veterinary Medicine, Pharmacy, Technology, Law, Public Health, Dentistry, Economics, Renewable Natural Resources and Environmental Design and Management. The Faculties of the Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Public Health and Dentistry are organised as a College of Medicine.

The list of the halls at are UI are ;

Mellanby Hall
Queen Elizabeth II Hall (female, undergraduate).
Kuti Hall (male, undergraduate).
Queen Idia Hall (female, undergraduate).
Obafemi Awolowo Hall (female,
Nnamdi Azikiwe Hall (male, undergraduate).
Independence Hall (male, undergraduate).
Tafawa Balewa Hall (mixed, postgraduate).
Alexander Brown Hall
Abdulsalam Abubakar Hall (mixed, postgraduate).

5. University of Ilorin

University of Ilorin , also known as Unilorin, is a federal government university located in Ilorin , Kwara State, Nigeria.

University of Ilorin was established in 1975

Unilorin has fifteen faculties: Arts (1976), Education (1976), Engineering & Technology (1978), Agriculture (1982), Law (1993, after an initial start-up in 1983), Basic Medical Sciences (2004), Clinical Sciences (2004) Communication and Information Sciences (2008), Veterinary Medicine (2009), Pharmaceutical Science (2010), and Life Science; Physical Science; Environmental Science; Management Sciences; and Social Sciences in (2013).

The halls at unilorin are;
Village I – Male
Village II (Lagos) – Female
Village IIIa (Abuja) – Female
Village IIIb (Kwara) – Female
Village IV (Zamfara) – Female
Village V (Trunil) – Female
Postgraduate Students Hostel
UNILORIN Scientific Multipurpose Cooperative Hostel (Private)
UNILORIN Pace-Setters Staff Multipurpose Cooperative Society Hostel (Private)
Arafims Hostel – Male (Private)
Pyramid Hostel – Male (Private)
Hauwa Hostel – Female (Private)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here